Awarding Ceremony of Educational Grants to FEATI COA Students

July 1, 2022- The United Architects of the Philippines Southern California Chapter held the first ever Awarding of Educational Grants Ceremony at the UAP National Headquarters Scout Rallos Street in Quezon City, Philippines. Selected Architecture Students from FEATI University, Polytechnic University of the Philippines and Rizal Technological University were awarded Php10,000.00 each as part of the UAP SoCal Chapter’s initiative to provide educational assistance to the students.

A duly recognized professional association for Architects, the UAP SoCal Chapter was established in Los Angeles, California, and is one of the international chapters, with its national headquarters in Manila, Philippines. The chapter is still expanding and reaching out to all Filipino architects throughout Southern California in an effort to bring them together in a spirit of service, fellowship, and camaraderie.

One of the requirements for the grant is that the student candidate make a proper application, present oneself professionally, to be endorsed by the Dean or Head of their respective College. Each application underwent careful evaluation and selection by the Chapter’s Education Committee headed by the Committee Chair, Ar. Edith Fuentes.

Ar. Lucille E. Floresta, the President of the UAP SoCal Chapter, also an alumna and former faculty of FEATI University College of Architecture, personally attended and presided the awarding of certificates and grants to the awardees. The event was also graced by the presence of the UAP National Officers – National President Ar. Richard M. Garcia, Secretary-General Ar. Vanessa L. Ledesma, National Treasurer Ar. Rene A. Corcuera, National Auditor Ar. Annie C. Pugeda and Immediate National Past President Ar. Armando Eugene C. De Guzman III.

There were 4 student awardees from FEATI University College of Architecture, they are Carlos Miguel dela Cruz, Kueena Levi Madeloso, Jayson Kenneth Ramos and Scott Andrew Serrano. From PUP Manila are Russel Bulosan, Rogen Dayton, Rafael Salaguste and Marie Sumatra. From Rizal Technological University, the recipients are Leanne Gonzales, Alyza Borromeo, Sean Chavez, Zamira Miraflor, Deanne Syling and Reena Bautista.

The educational grant program, as part of the UAP SoCal’s selfless service, is intended to ensure that no student falls behind because of the reason that they cannot afford or not have any resources to purchase the materials or obtain the tools while taking up BS Architecture, after all, these deserving students are the future of the architecture profession.